Oklahoma was one of the most recent states to legalize medical marijuana for its residents, approving the Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative also known as SQ 788 on June 26, 2018.
Even though there’s been a strong campaign from law enforcement, political leaders and business against cannabis legalization, voters were able to overcome their opposition.
It’s been less than six months since lawmakers approved the law and even less than the state’s program started receiving patient’s applications, however, more than 9,000 patients have been approved in the program so far.
If the SQ 788 continues as it is, the state’s medical marijuana program will be one of the most accessible of the U.S. However, according to Governor Fallin words, it probably won’t stay like this for that much longer.
“…As I mentioned in previous public comments, I believe, as well as many Oklahomans, this new law is written so loosely that it opens the door for basically recreational marijuana. I will be discussing with legislative leaders and state agencies our options going forward on how best to proceed with adding a medical and proper regulatory framework to make sure marijuana use is truly for valid medical illnesses.”
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority is responsible for receiving patient’s applications and regulating the state’s program.
Are you interested to know if do you qualify for pot in Oklahoma? The answer to this question will be displayed in this article, which will also clarify how you can become a medical cannabis patient in Oklahoma.
How do I qualify for pot in Oklahoma?
- A qualifying patient for Oklahoma’s medical marijuana program must meet the following requirements:
- Be 18 years old or more
- Minor patients must have a parent/legal guardian authorization
- Be an Oklahoma resident with a valid proof of residency
- Have a valid proof of identity
- Have a medical debilitating condition
- Have a recommendation form signed by a licensed physician (minors must get two licenses from different physicians)
What are the medical debilitating conditions listed on the state’s program?
While most of the medical marijuana programs of the U.S. has a list of medical debilitating conditions, Oklahoma medical marijuana program stands out by leaving physicians to chose whether medical marijuana is an appropriate treatment option for their patients or not.
However, if you’re feeling too lost not knowing if your ailment will be likely to be approved by a doctor, here’s a list of probable qualifying conditions that are in listed in many medical marijuana programs:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
- Muscle spasms
- Neuropathic pain disorders
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Severe nausea
- Any terminal illness
- Wasting syndrome
How much will the medical marijuana card cost?
There’s a fee of $100 that you must pay to the OSDH when you submit your application, and it lasts for two years. For future patients who qualify with Medicaid, SoonerCare, or Medicare benefits, there’s a fee of $20.
How do I find a licensed physician that will recommend me marijuana?
With Veriheal you’ll be able to find a licensed physician in Oklahoma that is going to recommend you medical marijuana.
All you must do is to register on our website, schedule a consultation with a physician and then attend your consultation.
Once you attend your consultation, the doctor will take a look at your medical records and check your ailments. If he or she believes that medical cannabis is an appropriate choice for you as a treatment him or her will complete and sign the Adult Patient-Physician Recommendation Form.
You must submit a copy of the Adult Patient-Physician Recommendation Form along with the other documents requested on the online system.
An important detail is that the doctor’s form must be dated within 30 days of the date you submit your application.
How do I apply?
The process is pretty simple, once you have the physician form and checked the documents needed to apply, go to this page http://omma.ok.gov/ and complete your application.
The OMMA will review your application and if you are approved, an approval letter with your medical cannabis will be mailed within 14 days of the day you submitted your application.
I received my card. When can I start buying marijuana?
It will take up to 9 months until the state’s medical marijuana dispensaries start selling medical cannabis. Until now, keep your card safe at home and wait until you’re able to purchase cannabis from a dispensary.
What will I be allowed to do under the program’s law?
The law allows patients to possess up to 3 oz of cannabis in public, up to 1 oz of cannabis concentrates such as THC extracts, oil, and possess up to 72 oz of marijuana-infused food. You’ll be able to store up to 8 oz of cannabis at home and also grow up to six mature plants at home.
There’s also the possibility that you can designate a caregiver to purchase or grow marijuana for you.